There’s More to Life Than Me

Over the last 6 years, I’ve been learning that there is more to life than me. Life is not about what I want, but what God wants. As I’ve surrendered my dreams into God’s hands, I’ve found that God has taken my dreams from me….but instead of just throwing my dreams aside and leaving me empty-handed, He has taken what I have given to Him and He has molded those dreams into something new and even more wonderful.

“Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds.” –John 12:24

When I first moved here to Arizona, I didn’t know what God was leading me to. I had no idea. Similar to Abraham, I heard God’s call on my heart and even though I wrestled with it at first, I heeded to His call and came.

Since I first felt that call 6 years ago, I have seen a pattern of how God has called me over and over again to surrender my dreams to Him and let them die in His hands.

I didn’t like this idea at first. But then I started to think about it more and realized, that if He were to allow those dreams to die there, He legitimately could.

He is God.

I am not.

But, being the loving Father that He is, He never seems to let what we surrender to Him stay dead.

He is the God who raised both Lazarus and Jesus from the dead.

Why would He not raise to life the dreams I willingly broke and gave to Him?

Jeremiah 29:11 has been a Bible verse I have held onto since I first became a Christian as a teenager and with good reason:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

I truly believe that whenever we give God something in sacrifice that He either returns it with a blessing or returns it with something even better in its place.

He exchanges the plastic beads with pearls.

The rhinestones with diamonds.

The valueless for value.

When God called me to leave behind my job, my family and friends in California to move to Arizona, I thought He was crazy for suggesting the idea. But through the years, I have learned to surrender my dreams to Him and as I have, I’ve seen Him bless me in more ways than I could have ever thought possible.

God took my original vision of working for Disney for the rest of my life and transformed it into something He wanted to do to impact people in a different and direct way. He took me from employee to employer. He took me from not passing at school to being a straight A student. He gave me the ability to do things that could not have been possible if He had not given me the power to. He gave me the courage and the opportunity to travel and reach outside my safe little circle.

He began to form a dream in me that was bigger than myself.

A dream that reached outside of my own little world and that was instead focused on serving other people.

There is such freedom in that.

I’ve learned…..it’s not about me.

It’s about Him and it’s about others.

Life is kind of like a piece of popcorn–we’re called to live inside, out.

Leave a Reply

