Beba Couture …. Fairytale Princess Magic in AZ!

Beba Couture (1 of 1) with logo2

For years, I have been surrounded by all things girly and princess.

When I was a little girl, I was always playing princess or my Barbie dolls were always being dressed in one kind of royal frock or another.

When I became a teenager, I could not get enough of the “royal” costumes I saw on the theater stage and felt a longing to be an actress–not so much to act, but so I could dress in the beautiful gowns I was seeing waltz across the stage.

I also went through a period of that time in life where I became quite convinced that I must be royalty when I discovered that some of my 6th great grandparents were kings and queens and would spend hours drawing out outfits that I deemed worthy of royalty.

Fast forward a few years to when I was a young adult and I was surrounded, yet, again, by princesses, but this time at Disneyland, the Happiest Place on Earth where I used to work as a Cast Member. It was there, when I was working at the Park, that the vision for Beba Couture was born and begin growing as a dream inside of me.

There was a day that I was hosting Cinderella in front of Sleeping Beauty’s Castle and remember seeing that there was a little girl standing there waiting to see her favorite princess, which should have been a call for joy. But instead, her face was downcast and her hands were sadly crossed in front of her. I knelt down so I was face to face with her and asked her why she was looking so sad. Her little friends were standing nearby dressed as their favorite Disney princess and she was dressed in the typical tourist fare — shorts and a t-shirt.

I can’t be a princess, because I don’t have a dress like those girls do.”

My heart felt like it broke into two when that little girl said what she did!

No girl should feel that way.

I looked into her sad little eyes and reminded her that before Cinderella ever became a princess at the palace and before she got her beautiful dress, that she was already a princess inside her heart and that that is what made her a princess.

She smiled and you could tell that her mood had lifted some and was just as happy to meet Cinderella as the other little girls were. They went off on their merry way, enjoying the rest of the theme park, but that moment touched something on the inside of me and stayed with me. It never went away.

I started to think about how the media speaks a strong message to girls and women of all ages that they have to look a certain way in order to feel a certain way.

That is when an idea started to form. Because of that encounter, I wanted girls to know how beautiful, special and unique they are to God and that He has a purpose for their lives.

I wanted to evoke beauty from the inside, out and capture it with my camera.

Beba Couture (1 of 1)-9 with logo

How could I help them to SEE themselves this way?

When this idea first came to mind, I went out and started to purchase Disney princess dresses, but I felt very strongly in my heart that God was telling me NO.

“Hmmm….what am I supposed to do for dresses, then, God?”

I felt like He was saying for me to create something special for these girls and to not make them tied to Disney at all, because He wanted me to honor HIM through it. But, what was I supposed to do? I had never sewed on a sewing machine before (except once when I was younger. I tried to make a coverlet for my Barbie’s bed and after 1 try, it was horrible and I never touched a machine after that).

I prayed about it.

And I prayed.

I asked God to give me the ability to sew and shared my heart with Him, how I felt like He was putting this vision on my heart to help encourage girls. What happened next, blew me out of the water as far as expectations go! I wasn’t ready for what was about to happen!

Beba Couture (1 of 1)-3 with logo

I had never sewn before, but suddenly, I could sew and make beautiful gowns like in the photos above! (The green dress was my very first anything ever made (with the exception of my failed attempt at making a Barbie bed cover when I was younger)! I sat there and awe and thought,

“I made this….God, I made this…YOU gave me the ability to make this!”

It was in that moment, that I knew that I was doing what God had been calling me to do! That my purpose was to help others to see themselves as God sees them:

Unique

Special

Purposefully created by a loving God.

Seriously, how does that happen unless it’s by the hand of God? He blesses His children with the desires of their heart and I am so grateful that He has blessed mine. I felt like there was an anointing on what He was calling me to do.

It’s not the gown that makes the princess….it’s the heart….and when a girl can SEE that beauty that has been placed inside of her, a sort of magic overtakes her and she lights up the world:

realizing that HER beauty is HIS beauty. 

It’s beauty, from the inside, out.

Beba Couture (1 of 1)-2 with logo posts Beba Couture (1 of 1)-8 with logo Beba Couture (1 of 1)-11 with logo Beba Couture (1 of 1)-12 with logo Beba Couture (1 of 1)-16 with logo Beba Couture (1 of 1)-18 with logo Beba Couture (1 of 1)-19 with logo Beba Couture (1 of 2) with logo book with logo snow with logo

Beba Couture (1 of 1)-13 with logo

It’s HER story in HIStory.

If you have a little girl here and would like me to capture her for the beautiful princess that you already know her to be, I would love to talk with you! I photograph primarily in the Phoenix metropolitan areas, but photograph out of state as well and am willing to travel.

I’m looking forward to hearing from you soon!

Alicia : alicia@BebaPhotography.com / 480.399.3030

Leave a Reply

