A Lot Has Changed In The Last Year!

As I sit down to write this blog post, part of me wonders where to even start! So much has changed for me and my life since the last post I wrote back in 2014. When I wrote my last blog post, I was still working a full time marketing job for a local pediatric dental company. I loved the owners and felt so blessed to work for friends…but there was still something stirring inside of me, that wasn’t letting me rest at night.

I had felt, for the last 2 and a half years, that God was calling me to quit my job and go into full time photography.

Um, WHAT God???

That is a little scary. Okay, make that a LOT scary.

No way. No how.

That’s a fun idea, but no, not me, God!

I felt a little bit like Jonah running from what God was calling him to do. It was a dream of mine, but surely I wasn’t cut out for that kind of thing.

Still, that persistent tugging was relentless and so I finally started to pray about it.

Well, more like I tried to talk God out of it:

“Um…so….I need encouragement to do this, God.”

God already had that in mind.

I had an onslaught of encouragement from nowhere that week. People telling me that this was my calling in life.

That I needed to be doing full time photography.

So, I did what any normal person would do….I got creative:

“Okay, well…..Lord, what about an emergency fund? I don’t have an emergency fund.”

 Phew! I knew He wouldn’t be calling me to something like that without a safety net below me, right? Surely, I was safe now. No quitting my job. I brushed some invisible dust off my shoulders, sure that I was going to stay comfortable at my marketing job.

I’m sure God was thinking, “That’s real cute, daughter. Real cute.”

Yeah, you guessed it. In 1 weekend, I had my entire emergency fund.

Hmm….Well….

I brushed off a little more imaginary dust and said,

Okay, God. I’ll do it. I’ll do it! I’ll even show You how much faith I have. I’ll quit on March 17th, 2016. I’m even setting a date when I’ll do it.”

Surely He must be beaming down at me with pride.

Not quite.

It was more like:

That’s a nice sentiment, but you’re going to quit this month. In fact, you’re going to quit this week.”

Slam on the brakes. Shut the front door. WHAAA??? What did I just hear God say to my heart?

I’m going to do WHAT and by WHEN??

But sure enough, I kept receiving confirmation after confirmation that this is what He was calling me to do, so I met with my boss that week and told her. To my surprise, her face lit up and she confirmed what God was calling me to! She said that she was proud of me and that this was my gifting, my heart and my passion and that she was happy for me! It was almost like I could hear her saying, “Finally you’re doing what God has called you to do! Finally you’re seeing that you’re supposed to be doing this!”

Gulp. So, that was it. I left my job at the end of December and just reached my 7 month full time entrepreneurial journey on July 29th, 2016. It’s been 7 whole months since I left corporate America to pursue the dream that I felt God putting in my heart and I’m living out the purpose and calling that He has for my life.

And it’s pretty darn awesome!!!

I almost had a full blown panic attack before I quit (okay, so I actually did) but now, looking back, I’m so glad that I did take that leap of faith and did it! I love this amazing journey God has me on and He has opened more doors than I could ever possibly imagine.

This year, I have been busier in my business than I have ever been in my entire almost 5 year photography career.

I’m starting to travel for my business. I’ll be visiting Washington, Oregon, California and Hawaii for photo sessions.

I branched out my Photographer’s Day Planner to now include a Busy Mommy Planner and a Business Entrepreneur’s Day Planner as well.

So many amazing things happening.

Things that are so much bigger than I am.

Things that could only happen by the hand of God.

Was it scary to make the transition?

Oh, you betcha.

But do I regret it?

Never.

I’m learning to embrace life for all that it is, right now.

I don’t expect fear to not be there.

I love the line from the movie, “The Princess Diaries” that says:

“Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgment that something is more important than fear.

The brave may not live forever, but the cautious do not live at all.”

Therein lies the key that my friend’s little girl once quoted:

“DO IT AFRAID.”

Leave a Reply

