Releasing Hope — Balloons For a Princess / Mesa, AZ Photographer

Ava (2 of 12) blog 10

When I had dinner with photographers, Jen Schell and Cynthia Dawson this past summer, I had no idea that my heart would be so touched. It was my first time meeting Cynthia and halfway into our conversation, I learned that her precious 5 year old daughter, Ava, was struggling with DIPG, a rare and very serious form of brain cancer.

My heart is especially sensitive and compassionate towards children with cancer and Ava’s story captured my heart. I followed Cynthia’s Facebook and blog posts { http://hopeforava.blogspot.com/ } a lot and learned more about bravery and courage in just a few short months than I ever have as Ava’s story unfolded. Cynthia is as brave as Ava for bearing her heart to the world and sharing her experience with all of us. Kids Ava’s age, adults many years her senior–all of us fell in love with this precious little girl who would bring laughter with her funny ways and silly booger song. She was indeed a princess and taught us all about what courage looks like when you’re facing a dragon bigger than you are.

When Ava took her last breath, she fell asleep and woke up in the arms of Jesus and I know that this special baby girl is free from suffering and pain. ❤ ❤ ❤

Ava’s funeral was a little over a week ago and because her family lives now in a different state, we who were not able to attend were asked to release pink balloons in her honor and memory. I got hit with the flu and was not able to. This made me extremely sad and I vowed that as soon as I got better, that I would in order to honor the life of this little one…and today, I finally got my chance! : )

I purchased 4 balloons and wrote “A-V-A” on 3 of them and then wrote a note on the last one.

On one side, I wrote:

“Sweet Ava, your life was shorter than any of us could have imagined, but your heart and the legacy you leave behind is bigger than the world can hold.”

And on the other side, I wrote:

“Love you little Ava! We will see you again someday. Until we do, rest in the arms of Jesus.”

Releasing them was releasing hope…because although Ava is no longer with us here, I believe that she lives on and her family will see her again….and as she let go of her life here, she released hope to us all, that we can be brave in the face of scary things.

Ava (10 of 12) blog 4

Ava (11 of 12) blog 3

Ava (12 of 12) blog 2

Stay Connected!

www.BebaPhotography.com / www.Facebook.com/BebaPhotography / www.BebaPhotographyBlog.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Releasing Hope — Balloons For a Princess / Mesa, AZ Photographer

Leave a Reply

